R-R-R-Rave Review?

Okay, so it’s from my mommy, but still.

I sent her the full soft manuscript of Primeval two days ago, and she proceeded to stay up all night reading it all the way through, which to me, is a rave review in and of itself.  I called her today, and we had a chat about it.  She gave me the five words that every author dreams of hearing:  “I couldn’t put it down.”

Success.

I asked her if she really did like it, and I added the inevitable, “You’re not just saying that because you’re my mommy, are you?”  (Yes, gentle viewers, I do still call her Mommy/Mama.  Sue me.)  Anyway, she said that she genuinely thought it was amazing, and proceeded to laud the descriptions, the characters, the world-building, and the plot, which showed me that she at least actually read it.  We discussed a few things I want to change, but the big parts I wanted to come across did so loud and clear, and so I therefore consider my first draft a triumph.  Although greater folks than I have played this game and failed, do allow me this fuzzy warm little glow of goldy-colored hope.  It is quite comforting to think that perhaps my long hours of toil produced something worthy.

Exciting.  What a glorious thing.

Stay tuned, gentle viewers.  More to follow.

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on May 3, 2010, in Uncategorized, writing progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “I couldn’t put it down”

    Music to a writer’s ears? I do believe so!

  2. Indeed! I still glow a little when I think of it. Here’s hoping any agents in receipt of this manuscript in the future will feel the same way. 🙂

