Beag air Bheag–Little By Little

Call it baby steps. Call it revving the engine. Call it what you will in whatever language suits you. I choose Gaelic. The meaning is the same. I could spout cliches about journeys starting with a single step, but we all know that first steps are purely bollocks without a second and a third and a four hundred twentieth and a three thousand four hundred eleventh. It takes more than one step to get moving, though only one to get started and many, many more to actually get anywhere.

I had a good few steps yesterday. I dusted off a useful book, listened to what it had to say, and began drafting my first query letter. Novel’s not fully ready yet, but in a way the query letter furthered the prickles of gorse bush. Feels like accountability in and of itself.

Now I’m sitting, hearing fragments of Gaelic syllables and Frightened Rabbit drifting through a pair of headphones, and through all of it, inspiration is beckoning, tantalizing. I wish I could pause time for the next few days to give me the moments and hours necessary to buckle down and settle in to a rhythm. The rhythm I need is my fingers on keys and the voices of my characters in my head. Time to swim until I can’t see land.

Let’s all look at the threshold of the North Sea in my mind
And a nod to the boredom that drove me here to face the tide
And swim, I’ll swim, oh swim
Dip a toe in the ocean, oh how it hardens and it numbs
The rest of me is a version of man built to collapse into crumbs
And if I hadn’t come now to the coast to disappear
I may have died in a landslide of rocks, of hopes and fears

One stroke after another until what’s behind me is out of sight, till what is coming begins as a line upon the horizon and looms closer until I collapse onto new shores.

So swim until you can’t see land
Swim until you can’t see land
Swim until you can’t see land
Are you a man or are you a bag of sand?

And the water is taller than me and the land is a marker line
All I am is a body of drifting water, salt, and sky


 

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in life intervention, writing business, writing process, writing progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Beag air Bheag–Little By Little.

Comments are closed.

