In Which Emmie Has a Very Ambitious Goal

Yesterday when I had to go to work (the beer-slinging work), I was in the middle of my writing work. 4:30 crept toward me like a cartoon villain tip-toeing down the hall in front of where I sit. I can hear the music now.

Probably this guy.

That guy feels a song coming on.

The tidings of 4:30 were very unwelcome. I typed frantic words, flipped back and forth through pages, and stared at the clock as if I could will it backward. Eventually the green guy in a cape came, grabbed me around the waist and pulled me kicking and screaming out the door.

“Nooooooooooooooooooooo!”

As if going to work when I was in the writing zone was bad enough, it was Jack W. Tweeg that made me leave home. How embarrassing.

Anyway, through a scheduling mishap, I didn’t get scheduled at work today. While at first that made me really excited, I then got grumpy about it because everyone who works is going to make money (our restaurant got bought out for the day). Now I’m excited again. It means I have a whole day that I don’t usually have off to write. Which brings me to Emmie’s Very Ambitious Goal.

He's ready to hear it. Are you?

My goal is to finish my second draft today.

Why is that so very ambitious? Well. I still have twenty single spaced pages to rewrite. That takes a while. A lot of it needs to be tweaked, which takes longer. But I think I can do it. In fact, I know I can do it. The reasons I want to get this done today are as follows: it’s my last day off before NaNoWriMo officially starts, I don’t want it hanging over my head like a villain in a hot air balloon, and it just needs to get done so I don’t go insane and start cutting off body parts for Halloween.

Alrighty. Time for me to get to the old drawing board. Wish me luck. I’ll report back here later.

“I feel……….I feel a song coming on!”

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on October 27, 2011, in primeval, writing process and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Rebecca Goldson

    You are one dedicated and focused young woman. You can make this happen. “I feel a song coming on” myself. Remember where we got that, Emmie?

