Get Out Your Precograph

Okay, so I don’t know what a precograph is, but it sounds like something that could look into the future, right?

There are some sparkly things germinating in Emmie-land, and I thought today might be a good day to share them with you.

First of all, I’ve mentioned it already, but I’ve begun writing a new novel. It’s new territory for me both in genre (still paranormal, but comic book style superhero paranormal), and it’s written in the first person present tense. The latter is quite new and interesting. I like the immediacy of it as well as the intimacy, but it of course has its drawbacks as well. Making sure to stay in the correct usage can be a bit tricksy. I’m also writing it from the perspective of a Scot, so making sure I use the correct Britishisms is going to be fun. The tone is quirky, snarky, and a little self-deprecating. So far I’m having a ball. You can follow my progress on this novel in the sidebar of this here blog.

While I’ve decided to can the Silver Thorn trilogy pending massive overhaul, it’s not something I want to entirely give up on. Once I finish the first draft of the WIP, I will go back to those books and try to squeeze the gold from the dross again.

The third exciting announcement is that I am building a website — a proper one. It’ll have the normal snazz with a few fun twists, including a store (!), which should hint at some things coming up in the not-so-distant future.

I am considering a small series of short stories that may serve as a prequel to the Silver Thorn books once I go back to them. I have one that I am going to start submitting to magazines and a couple more in the works. Exciting? Yesh.

Call it Emmie 2.0, call it whatever you want, but I’ve been stewing a bunch of ideas in my brain for the last few months, and they’re beginning to coalesce into something more cohesive than chunky soup. An idea bisque, if you will.

What I’ve come up with for the fifth or sixth time is that goals need three things to become accomplishments: vision, plan, and discipline. So when it comes to both writing and losing stubborn love handles, all three have to work together.

I’m psyched to share these upcoming changes with you — so hold onto your butts.

That didn’t come out right.

 

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Good luck with your new projects. I think your three keys to goal accomplishment are spot on. But the discipline one can be so tough sometimes. πŸ™‚

  2. Love your action plan. I shelved my YA book for a year when I couldn’t figure out what else needed revising. A year later, I wiped that fat baby into shape. πŸ™‚ Congrats on the new book, it sounds very intriguing an fun. πŸ™‚ Great idea on the website too.

  3. Good luck! Present tense first person can be a challenge. In my little serial, Tidal, I write as if in a journal. And sometimes I have to stop and actually think, okay the character is relating a past even in his journal, what tense should I use? I have thought about having a character of different country or ethnicity, but except for a few stereotypical “phrases” or “isms”, really I am too lazy to do the research. One time I looked into popular Victorian phrases for a period piece and it was so overwhelming. I just felt like anyone who actually WAS from that country/nationality, etc, would know I was faking it. LOL

  4. Love the progress meter Emmie … seems like something I should use. (Maybe it will help get me working on the book again.) It fits seamlessly into your blog style. Where did you get it?

  5. Very exciting! All of it. I’m cheering you on. πŸ˜€

  6. Good luck with your new novel. It sounds like a fun write, and read.

  1. Pingback: You Bitches Really Love Me « The Diary of a Mad Gay Man

