Are You Ready to RUMBLE?

Bust out your bugspray; dust off your sleeping bag.

It’s getting to be that time again, folks!

As June dawns, so does the first yearly installment of Camp NaNoWriMo, and I’m signed up for the torture glory of roughing it through 50,000 words in a month again.

For those of you who don’t know, Camp NaNoWriMo is an offshoot of NaNoWriMo proper, a month long endeavor to pump out a novel in the 30 days of November. 50,000 words, start to finish, 1,667 words per day. NaNo proper is always in November, but last year they started summer camp. There are two sessions — one in June and one in August — and this writer is going to hit both.

I have a tradition to maintain of going at this challenge rebel-style, which is to say I’ll be working on finishing the first draft of my existing WIP. The “rules” are to start from scratch, but they’re not picky about people following them as long as you’re going second star on the right and straight on till 50k.

As is Emmie-licious, I like to put my own little twists on things. So if you’re interested in pumping up the action and injecting Camp NaNoWriMo with a little steroid syringe, get ready!

Here’s the sitch:

I watch a decent amount of TV. Right now it’s Game of Thrones and The Vampire Diaries. But every marathon on Netflix costs me writing time — so this time around, I have a solution.

Everyone has their vices. Some of us might share the Damon Salvatore vice, others might have other things that get in the way, like ironing your underwear or making snoods from angel hair pasta.

Just TRY to tell me you don’t want him to be your vice too. Even if you’re a straight male or a nun. I dare you.

Whatever it is that you like to do but that keeps you from writing, fix it in your mind.

Got it?

Okay. I give you…..

Commander Emmie’s Can-Do, Communal Camp of Creation!

Statute the First: Write 2,000 words per day.

Statute the Second: Spend at least two hours per week doing something that rejuvenates you.

Statute the Third: Earn your vices with words.

The first two are self-explanatory, so here’s what I mean with the third one. If your vices, like mine, get in the way of your writing, turn the table upside down on them. Want to polish off the last four episodes of Next Food Network Star? That’ll cost you 4,000 words.

An hour of television costs 1,000 words. Reading is GREAT, but if you’re like me, you might snuggle in between the covers of an old favorite and end up realizing four hours later that you didn’t touch your WIP today. Pay for your reading time minute for minute. Thirty minute writing sprint? Thirty minutes curled up with le book. Going out drinking with your mates tonight? Not till you hit your goal. They can sit in your living room and entertain the cats while you polish off your 2,000 words.

Want to go extra hardcore with earning your vices? I’m trying to lose some weight, which means I’m fighting my super-lazy metabolism AND the estradiol progestione I ingest each day to avoid any untimed joy bundles. If I want to see what happens in the season one finale of Vampire Diaries or the next round of The Bachelorette (I know, I know…everyone gets a guilty pleasure, right?), I have to earn it. 1,000 words for every hour AND fifteen minutes of upped heart rate, gasping for breath.

Why do I want to do this to myself?

Damn fine of you to ask, I say! Capital! Capital!

The first reason is to complete a first draft of a novel in less than two months (it’s already begun). If I hope to make a career out of my scribblings, I’m going to need to put out more than just one book every three years.

The second reason is that I really want my tattoos. And I’m not letting that happen until I’ve gotten back down to a healthy BMI and my goal weight.

The third reason is that to accomplish any goals, it takes discipline. Camp NaNoWriMo (and NaNoWriMo proper) is a writing bootcamp disguised by chunky graphics and happy fonts. I like to take it a couple steps farther because I believe in a holistic approach to life. If you’re making things happen in one area, you can make things happen in others.

So. Who’s with me?

A thin veil for thirty days of sweaty, feverish typing.

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Camp NaNoWriMo June, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. This is a great idea… unfortunately, aside from Facebook and volleyball (which I only do once a week), my vices are “sleep” and “paying attention to/playing with baby,” so I’m not sure I should “pay” for those, so much as make sure they are the two things I definitely get done (and somehow the sleep always suffers. LOL) I am having trouble holding myself to 200 words a day (sad, I know.)

  2. Good luck! I’m picking up the last of my supplies for June haha! Excited to put myself through another 50k marathon!

  3. Ooh, I like the Emiielicious injection! I’m in! πŸ˜€ My vices: Netflix (usually documentaries or some TV show or another I latch on to), reading, sleeping, not getting enough exercise. Are you starting June 1st? I’ll be on a writing retreat that weekend, so I won’t be able to check in, but once I’m back I’ll be set. πŸ˜€

  4. I’m in, too! My biggest vices are TV and time with hubby (usually together, since he is as much as a TV addict as I am) and reading. I am holding myself to 2,500 words a day, Monday-Friday, plus a daily workout. Until I reach that goal, no television. If I manage to stick to that, I will take the weekends off for family time. πŸ™‚

  5. OK, I’m liking my Camp Nanowrimo progress to watching Mad Men and catching up on Season 6 of Supernatural.

  6. Also, I get to buy a comic book for 1000 words.

  7. You go girl! I’ll be cheering you on from the sidelines. *Pompoms at the ready*
    I’ve just typed “THE END” on my WiP and fired it off to an editor. Now the fun begins … and I can have my life back!

  8. I’d really like to do this. But my schedule already demands a lot of discipline… don’t know if I can. I will try!

  9. This isn’t something I have time for at the moment, but good luck. Sounds like a worthy challenge.

  1. Pingback: NaNo questions « Run4joy59's Blog

  2. Pingback: Celebrating and excuses… « By Amanda Leigh

