The View: EOW Entries

Sorry to be a bit late with today’s! I had a snafu at work with our new computer system, and I didn’t get to have a break until now.

Here are today’s entries newest entries by Rafael Piñero and Alissa Leonard!

The Best Seat in the House

by Rafael Piñero

303 words

The view from the Copula was the best seat on the Earth. Except that I wasn’t on Earth but two hundred miles above it. I checked the countdown on my pad.

Impact in 24:17:09

08

07

I switched the damn thing off before it reached 00 seconds. Lindsey McKenzie rested against the window frame.

“So, any plans for the last twenty-four?” she said. Her gaze drifted to the blue ocean below. Vast dust clouds stretched from the Sahara, across the Atlantic into the Caribbean basin.

“I thought I would just drink some of Sergei juice and vodka mix until we ran out and then, oh I don’t know, ask for some company, regs be dammed,” I said.

Her light brown hair dance around her head, “You can’t be serious.”

“I’m not taking the damned pills, Lin. And, well this is it, isn’t it?”

Her eyes welled up, “What about your family, and mine and…” She blinked. Tiny translucent spheres leaked from her eyes, like pearls suspended in mid air. A few of mine merged with hers into bigger droplets that flew past her nose.

“Of course I do, but you know the score, Lin. It can’t be help. I prefer to go down laughing than crying, don’t you?” And at that moment, with Mother Earth below me, I said my last silent goodbye.

Sergei popped up on the hatch above us, “Here, have the first batch on me!” He threw a pair of Kool-Aid packs “enhanced” with Russian vodka.

Juice in hand she tugged at my collar, “Let’s make it a good one.” Lips pressed together, arms sought flesh under clothes. And somewhere in the labyrinthine perch above our home a music player played a familiar tune.

It’s the end of the world as we know it….

“Old Faithful”

By Alissa Leonard

500 Words

“Ugh! It stinks here! Why did we have to come here for vacation? It stinks.” Adrianne had a whine in her voice that could shatter the teeth in my head. Plus she was dragging her feet.

“Please hurry up. We’re going to miss Old Faithful!” I had planned too much. I somehow overestimated the endurance of a five year old…or, perhaps, hoped for too much. We should’ve left her with Grandma.

“Doesn’t the fountain spray all the time?” Adrianne continued to shuffle her feet.

“It’s called a geyser, and it will be at least another hour before it erupts again, maybe two.” Timothy turned around and got right in her face, “so hurry up.”

“Erupts like a volcano?” she whispered.

“No. And Yes. It’s just water and steam, not ash, dust, gas, and molten rock, but it will spray it over 100 feet into the air, close to 200 if we’re lucky!”

“That sounds hot. I don’t want to be any hotter. It’s too hot here. Can we go home?”

Timothy turned to me with that look in his eyes, “Mom! We’re gonna miss it!”

I sighed and handed over the camera, “Here, take this and catch up with your Dad.” Timothy snatched the camera and took off after Brian and Michael. I hadn’t even realized they were so far ahead.

I picked up Adrianne. That set off a screaming tantrum that shook the earth, literally. Tremors are normal here, I had to remind myself. I suppose blaming the tremor on my daughter was a little excessive, but she was acting like it was the end of the world. We’d seen the Grand Prismatic Spring this morning, and we were booked for a Wagon Train tour this evening. This was our window for Old Faithful.

As I carried a screaming five year old toward Old Faithful, I couldn’t help but notice the stares. I just wanted to die of shame, but I wanted to see Old Faithful more.

We didn’t miss it. They had saved us a seat. Brian leaned over and took Adrianne from me, “Hey Sweet Pea, do you want a lollipop?” He had pulled out our bribe bag. We tried to limit their sugar intake, but this was an emergency. She stopped crying immediately, so I wasn’t going to worry over it right now. One lollipop wouldn’t kill her.

Just then, Old Faithful erupted. Wow! I allowed myself several moments of awe before I turned to see that my family was also enjoying the moment. I reached for the camera from Timothy and snapped pictures.

Old Faithful sputtered out way too soon and the ground began to shake. This was a full-on earthquake! Also, not unusual here, I had to tell myself. But when the shaking only got worse, I felt Timothy pulling on my shirt. I looked at him with wide eyes and he was pointing. I followed his finger and saw a cloud of black. I turned back to Timothy, “That’s not normal, is it?”

You still have a week to end YOUR world! Click the above image to see contest details and read all the contest entries to date!

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I thought I screwed up my entry. Glad it wasn’t anything on my end.

  2. Your EOW contest makes me think of a few lines of poetry from TS Eliot
    “This is the way the world ends
    Not with a bang but with a whimper.”

  1. Pingback: Final Thoughts: EOW Entry « Emmie Mears

  2. Pingback: EOW Parade of Victory « Emmie Mears

