The Horizon Approacheth

Match Five

Alissa Leonard, “Old Faithful” versus Angie Richmond, “The Europe Thing” versus J.B. Lacaden, “Hanging”

Read these three entries HERE.

Because of the number of entries, I had to have an erm…three way.

Match 6

Lyra Selene, “The Seeds of the Earth” versus T.C. Sinclair, “The Coming”

Read these entries HERE.

I wish it was this horizon. (Photo credit: Elizabeth Cooper)

The Horizon Approacheth

Yesterday a question popped into my mind.

“If you could do anything or be anywhere, why don’t you?”

It sounds almost like something Dr. Seuss would say. I’m not even sure it makes sense. But it made me think.

Regardless of how you feel about the Big Age Landmarks (these often fall suspiciously on the round decades), they often manage to conjure up questions you don’t want to hear. Like “Is this really where you thought you’d be?” and “Are you sure you want to wear that?” and  snotty little statements like “Mmmhmmm. You’re still doing the same thing. What else is new?”

Irritating as those questions are, they have a certain validity.

No matter which way you slice the cake, I’m not where I want to be. And I still have a couple of years to get there, so when those questions show up I can throw dirt in their faces and cackle.

This isn’t to say dreams are impossible to achieve past a certain point, but I’ve been stuck in one of those Oregon Trail wagon ruts for two years, and for the last eight months I’ve been clawing toward the horizon feeling like something’s gotta give.

So in the last few weeks, I’ve made some huge decisions. None are going to magically poof the horizon closer to me, but they should help on the way. One’s a career choice, another is a lifestyle choice.

They’re both going to take a lot of time and effort, but I hope to accomplish two things:

1. Leave the restaurant industry for good. Serving has been wearing me down for the last two years, and I need a job that allows me more financial freedom as well as the ability to be my own boss. Since thus far I can’t do that with my writing, I’ve decided to become an Independent Beauty Consultant for Mary Kay Cosmetics and build myself a business that way. I won’t go too far into details on that, but I will say I want my style of MK to come with a bit of an edge. I dare you to picture me in a pink Cadillac. 😀

2. I want to create a healthy, strong body that will not only look better, but perform in what I want it to perform. I want to cultivate a lifestyle that reflects my inner image and builds discipline and strength. So I have decided to begin studying Karate this fall with the intention of progressing as far as I possibly can.

Part of effective life changing is setting quantifiable goals, and I want to share them with you for the sake of my own accountability. 🙂 Consider this Emmie checking in with the world.

Here are my goals:

  • Become an Independent Sales Director of Mary Kay within one year. To do this I will need to have 24 consultants on my team, which is approximately two per month. I think that’s doable.
  • Edit and begin submitting Shrike by 1 September.
  • Write and edit one more book before 31 December, 2012.
  • “Survive” the Run For Your Lives on 27 October without being zombiefied.
  • Be able to bid a polite farewell to the service industry by March 2013.
  • Move to Scotland by August 2014. (I WILL be there for the referendum, even if I cannot vote in it.)

Most of these goals are relatively short term, and I do have long term goals as well. I was waiting for something to pop out at me, something that offered what I needed in terms of supporting my family and my writing, and Mary Kay happened along just as I needed it. I’ll post a few more details about that later, but for now suffice it to say that I’m running toward the horizon as fast as my legs can take me.

Which right now is approximately six miles per hour (at least at first).

What goals are you headed toward? What changes do you want to make in your life before your next Landmark? 

 

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on August 5, 2012, in Contests, EOW, life intervention, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It’s funny how we are on the same kind of path right now. Great minds and all. My short term goal right now is to get my coaching business up and off the ground by October. I originally said August, but it would appear that was a completely unrealistic target. Anyhow once the business is on its feet I have a whole laundry list of other goals I’d like to accomplish. Finish editing my novel and start submitting, quit my full-time day job and move to Vancouver BC….just a few items on the list.

    Good luck with your list, I just can’t wait to hear how it all comes along for you! Oh and trust me, I’m still working on that editing package 😉

  2. Go for it, Emmie, and keep believing! It’s going to be fun cheering you on this journey. Does this mean I can order my mascara (I never leave home without it!) from you?
    My short term goal is to publish my next (still untitled) novel by the fall. It’s with an editor right now. My long term goal is to live forever … or die trying!

    • Thank you, Patricia! I am really excited about it. Mary Kay has offered so much opportunity to so many thousands of women, and I’m excited to be one of them. It came along at exactly the right time for me, and I can’t wait for my debut in two weeks. 😀

      As for the mascara — once I get my website up and running it might be possible, but I’m not sure if I am allowed to sell cross-border until I’m a director. I’ll have to ask my director. 🙂 The good news is, I’ve set some high and lofty goals for myself — one being to become a director within a year. So if not, maybe next August I’ll be able to come up to Canada and do a party for you and friends (and bring you some FREE mascara!)

      😀

