Building the ZAP Army

Zombie Run

This one’s for you, Anna. Zombie Run (Photo credit: mebrett)

Happy Monday, gentle viewers!

That’s enough gentle.

Today is Zombie Apocalypse Preparation, so wipe that gentle right off your faces. It’s time to get badass.

Zombies as portrayed in the movie Night of the...

Zombies as portrayed in the movie Night of the Living Dead (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Zombies, Run!

This week I finally got into an awesome app called Zombies, Run! This is an amazing game that gets you to run — because something is chasing you. Complete missions, collect supplies, build your base — and all while making sure you stay away from the zombie hordes.

Thank you to the newly appointed ZAP Battlemaster, Anna Meade for her tireless recruiting for the ZAP Army. The more people we recruit, the more likely the human race will survive the zombie apocalypse. And we at ZAP rather like being alive.

As your Warrior General, my goal is to keep you updated on the latest tools for your Zombie Apocalypse Preparation so that you can strategise and formulate the best possible tactics for survival.

Today’s featured tool is the Zombies, Run! Game, which allows you to flee zombies in real time.

Features:

  • Your own custom playlists (see my favourite playlist here!)
  • Customised run duration
  • Over 30 missions to complete
  • Real-time communication with your base
  • Warnings when zombies approach
  • Calorie counter
  • A story you’ll want to join
  • A base to expand

Check out this awesome video to get an idea of how it works:


The only downside I see so far is the cost. It’s $7.99 for the app, which is rather expensive. I shelled it out, though, and from all the reviews I’ve read and/or watched, it’s worth it. I will report back.

That said, this is a fully immersive gameplay experience that does a whole lot of awesome things, including tracking your speed on runs (even going as far as to track the changes in your speed when you’re being chased!). There is also the promise of more missions, and they’ve dubbed the initial release of the story as Season One — which implies there will be MORE full seasons and that the story will expand indefinitely. I could be wrong, but $7.99 for all that seems like a bargain.

Be a ZAP Warrior

I have gotten a couple questions this week about how you “join” us over in the ZAP Army. Because we don’t have a website and/or forum (yet!), all you have to do is head over to Twitter and tweet your zombie apocalypse preparation at the #ZAP hashtag so we can cheer you on!

Be a ZAP Strategist

Also, if you have any particular skills in weaponry or survival (hunting, finding water, building fires, etc.), feel free to contact me if you are interested in doing a guest post for ZAP. By guest posting, you will automatically be promoted to ZAP Strategist.

I hope you’ll all check out Zombies, Run! It’s an awesome project that began on Kickstarter — and I love supporting stuff like that, even when there are no zombies.

So. Who’s with us?

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on August 27, 2012, in CIS: Chance of Initial Survival, ZAP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Sign me up! I need to shed some pounds and improve my shape. I have a healthy regard for my own life and would like to keep in the event of the apocalypse. Though in all truth, in the event of a real “disaster” I would have had to get at least one knee replaced or I would be Zombie Fodder, Rearguard Supreme.

    Perhaps Corps Sharpshooter would serve me better. I always wanted to learn to shoot, rifle, crossbow, bow and arrow, I’m not picky, Perhaps this would be good incentive to try those things, LOL. Thanks Emmie for such fun at the end of the world.

  2. Okay so let me start off by saying, I’m IN!

    Secondly I despise running. Truly I do. In fact I have been often quoted as saying “the only time I run, is if something is chasing me!”

    DAMN IT! I guess I better start running 🙂

    Thanks for creating this! I swear exercise feels a whole lot more interesting when it’s for a completely legitimate reason such as surviving the Zombie Apocalypse.

    • Hahahaha, I feel like a lot of us have used that line.

      I seriously believed I was incapable of running for a long time. Now that I’m actually doing it, however, I can not only do it for plural miles at a time, but I have found that I enjoy my time running. Funny what the body does.

      Welcome to the ZAP Warriors!

  3. Dude, basic parkour is a must for escaping zombie hordes. You should look into vaults and wall runs with clumb ups especially.

  4. Woo! I’m glad I signed up for this … I need to get back in shape! Winter’s coming and I will NOT turn into a couch potato!

    I was turned off by the price, too, but I really like that it’s a story being told and how you get more info the more you run. From what I’ve listened to, it’s quite enjoyable! And running isn’t usually enjoyable for me.

    Go Team ZAP!

  5. I am so intrigued!! You do find the good stuff. Now I just need a smart phone.

  6. I heard about this game and thought it would be a fun way to get in shape but, now that I’ve read your post, I’m a little worried. You did use the words “fully immersive gameplay experience.” Have you found yourself spending too much time running from the virtual zombies yet? 😉

    If it gets you going, keep at it. And $7.99 does seem like a bargain just for the motivation, let alone everything the app can do.

  1. Pingback: Leading the Charge: ZAP Warriors In Action « Emmie Mears

  2. Pingback: What Can ZAP Do For You? « Emmie Mears

  3. Pingback: I’m Trained to Kill « Emmie Mears

  4. Pingback: ZAP Nutrition: Eating Your Way To Zombie Prep « Emmie Mears

