Back, Back, Back From a Magical Journey

Hmm. I didn’t think this title through all the way. In this analogy, I am a cow.

Though I did see lots of food in Ohio, which could be considered a parallel dimension.

Regardless, gentle viewers, I’m back! Back from Ohio and two Thanksgivings in a row (which I will nevereverevereverevereverever do again), back from Spouse’s suggested blogging hiatus, and back to a very lovey kitty who missed me heaps.

Would you believe it? I didn’t even gain the five pounds I thought inevitable.

And right this moment, my kitty is bathing herself in a beam of sunshine. Can we say adorable? Everyone together now, “ADORABLE.”

In no particular order, this was my weekend:

-Family. Lots of family. Between getting to Skype with my cousin who is in boot camp at Cape May and seeing Breaking Dawn for the erm…third time with my other cousin, there was lots of love happening. And some tears. Because of the former, not the latter. Spouse and I also got to see his family, and Buffy got to see her favourite doggy buddies!

-Too. Much. Food. This is always a theme with Thanksgiving, but let me just say that after Thursday at my aunt’s house, Friday with the in-laws disabused me of any inkling I had to eat dessert. Which is a bummer, because there was some pumpkin cheesecake that looked phenomenal. Unfortunately, after two days of shoving food in my stomach, by that point it was not happening.

-Buffy found true love with our friends’ husky puppy Vinny:

These two were made for each other.

It’s a funny thing — Buffy’s great with other dogs. A little submissive sometimes, but she has a ball. But it’s a whole other thing seeing her with another husky. They play so perfectly together. It’s almost like they know they’re two peas in a fluff-butt pod. Plus, seeing two huskies play together is just plain cute overload. They love each other. I swear they were both bummed when we had to leave.

-I started reading Dracula. Aside from the little erm…asides about the weakness and swooniness of women, it’s been very interesting so far. And talk about influence. The whole book has been an exercise in making memories click. And it’s oh-so-Victorian in how it regards sexuality — the marriage most lauded so far (I’m a bit over halfway through) is one that appears to be chaste. Seriously. I don’t think Mina and Jonathan Harker have even kissed.

-My asthma is back with a vengeance. Friday night after stuffing myself like a turkey, I had another asthma attack. It was unpleasant. And even more unpleasant was that I accidentally overdosed a bit on my albuterol and Advair disc and ended up with a heartbeat that sounded like the drumline of Wipe Out.

-I’m sick! Last night I conked out at 10 PM, which is ungodly early for me. And yet I kept waking up with a sore throat. This morning there were other signs that snot was going to start taking over my life, and I feel lethargic and achy. And I work a double!

-Thanksgiving traffic. I told Spouse we ought to leave around 8:30 if we wanted to be back in time for his lesson. We left at 10 and got back at quarter of seven — already cutting into the time he was supposed to be teaching. Luckily, he was still able to do it. The last two hours of the drive were very stressful. I’d take leaving too early over bumper-to-bumper traffic and a very irritated Spouse any day. This is as close as I’ll get to an I-told-you-so.

Back to real life.

How was your weekend? What did you do?

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on November 26, 2012, in life intervention and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I LOVE Magical Trevor. (but then, Everyone Loves Magical Trevor, yes?)

    And thank you, Emmie…because now the song will be looping in my head over and over and over and over again today…

    (someday, I will repay this favor… 😉 )

  2. It took all weekend for my feet to recover, but like you, lots of family made it worthwhile. We are diligently going through leftovers. Turkey soup again tonight.

  3. Glad you made it intact, but it sounds like you need some rest.

    I had a nice relaxing holiday. Lots of food and rest. Not much writing though, but that’s okay.

    • Two nights in a row of 12 hours of sleep — and I’m still feeling out of it and woozy. Bleh.

      • Yeah, a virus/cold will do that, huh? Sucks. I’ve managed to get through Thanksgiving disease-free, but I’m sure that will not last long! Must be hard working with the public. But, I guess, it’s like teachers? Your immune system gets bolstered?

