December Brings…

English: Total Solar eclipse 1999 in France. *...

English: Total Solar eclipse 1999 in France. * Additional noise reduction performed by Diliff. Original image by Luc Viatour. Français : L’éclipse totale de soleil en 1999 faite en France. * Réduction du bruit réalisée par Diliff. Image d’origine Luc Viatour. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I woke up this morning with a strange, between-times sense that November was Over, but not really grasping What Came Next.

November seemed like the longest of months this year, and I can’t quite put my finger on why. Last year, with NaNo, it flew by. I was barely beginning to dive into one story than I bid the 30th goodbye with a new story racing through the gates.

Willow Kitty is doing laps on the couch, Buffy Puppy is gnawing on one of her beloved bones, and I feel at once like November has been all of 2012 and none of it at the same time. It’s an odd feeling.

But it is December, and with December comes some newness. A change of pace.

Today Spouse and I begin the Whole 30, as I mentioned a couple days ago.

We both had our morning weigh-in — the last before the New Year! Spouse was at 242.8. I was at 182 even. We won’t be touching the scale until New Year’s Eve.

People at work know what I’m doing this month. I spent last night trying not to talk (my voice is a sad memory right now due to my bronchitis and coughing) and hunting around our menu for things I can eat at work during the Whole 30. The verdict was that I’ll be eating a lot of salad and modified burgers. Even the chicken is marinated in beer, which contains both gluten and sugar. Plus, you know. Beer. And alcohol this month is a no-go.

This will be perfect timing, as well — we’ll finish up on the 30th and celebrate with our tickets to see Louis C.K. in Baltimore on New Year’s Eve!

I’ve gotten several questions about how and what I will possibly eat if I won’t be eating grains, dairy, and sugar — and how I’ll cope with the horrible devastating lack without alcohol.

Fear not, gentle viewers.

For instance, breakfast today will look quite normal. Centre-cut rasher of bacon, scrambled eggs, and an orange.

Lunch will be my homemade chicken soup, full of tomatoes, carrots, celery, kale, onion, and garlic. Hearty and delicious.

And dinner will be a bit of a trial, because I’m going to a TGIO (Thank Gods Its Over) party for NaNo at Red Lobster. I’ll find something I can eat.

I’m not fussed about eating this way for a month. I’m curious to see what the results will be, and I already have an inkling that they will be good. In the last few days, Spouse and I have already sort of begun eating this way. Results? Less bloating, two pounds down on the scale. In three days of not even doing it that well.

Tomorrow’s dinner will I think be: seared turkey patties with herbs and onion over a bed of steamed kale with lemon and clarified butter (which is the one dairy exception allowed), and a crunchy salad of peas and pine nuts.

That sounds pretty tasty to me.

Instead of milk, we’re drinking unsweetened almond milk this month. We’ve also bought lots of tea (green tea and vanilla rooibos) and stocked up on fruit. I have a feeling that we’ll not only be eating better, but we’ll be spending less money on food because we’ll be eating at home instead of elsewhere.

If you’re all interested, I’ll post a few recipes over the next few weeks. With the New Year, you can expect a new and improved Emmie, ready to bust out some slick moves for the zombie apocalypse. In the spirit of the Whole 30 and ZAP, I might even do a post on edible plants. 🙂

Wish us fortitude and good choices!

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on December 1, 2012, in Ability for Indefinite Sustenance, ZAP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Only just got round to commenting! (Bad Fran)…
    I’m a coeliac, which means I’m gluten intolerant. It makes it tough eating out, as there is quite often gluten in sauces and dressings, so even eating salads can be treacherous. And a lot of chips (fries) are coated in wheat flour, which is a pain. I hope you’re getting on okay with it! One of my work colleagues is on the paleo and she absolutely adores it, and feels millions better already. You will notice a difference really quickly when you cut out gluten and dairy, because they’re the two triggers for all sorts of problems.
    Do let me know what almond milk is like – I’ve never tried it, but I suffer from eczema and apparently cutting out dairy helps, so I’m considering doing that for the winter (as that’s when it’s worst!)

