My Fantasy Circle of Five

cooltext852850082

Today’s WordPress prompt got me thinking…

A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?

I could go with people from daily life, but this is a blog about fantasy (among other meanderings). So I thought I’d give this prompt a twist of the nipples and turn it into something more fun — the five people from fantasy worlds I’d want to spend my time with.

Spike (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)

“I may be love’s bitch, but at least I’m man enough to admit it.” Spike (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

1. Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Not only does he have great taste in music, but he tends to see to the heart of whatever matter he stumbles into. I could write a whole dissertation on Spike (and apparently, one of the Watchers did a thesis), and I’ve blogged about him here and here if you’re craving a dose of this bad boy in black.

Spike has a good sense of fun. I’d like to run amok with him.

damon-damon-salvatore

damon-damon-salvatore (Photo credit: gillani_1991)

2. Damon Salvatore from The Vampire Diaries

If for NO other reason (and there are plenty of reasons) than to see him side by side with Spike. That would be a quip-off to end all quip-offs.

Plus, Damon is just an interesting sort of fellow. Scorned by a woman he loved for a century and a half, drinking problem in more ways than one — I’d get drunk with Damon and Spike any day. And I rarely drink.

And there’s the abs. Great googly moogly.

Are you a good witch or a bad witch? Faye’s her own witch.

3. Faye Chamberlain from The Secret Circle (the books!)

I always loved her character. Sure, she was bitchy and had a tendency toward cruelty. But she knew what she wanted and was very powerful in her own right, if misguided.

Pizza Man He Delivers, anyone? Emma Meade ought to know that reference. Faye knows how to have a good time, albeit a bit of an unscrupulous one. You’d never be bored hanging out with this witch.

“These funnel cakes are kicking my ass.”

4. Andrew Wells, from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Or, Buffy, Slayer of the Vampyrs.

Spike, Damon, Faye, and Andrew in a room together? I would never stop laughing. Unless Damon snapped his neck, which is a total possibility. Remind me to get Andrew a Gilbert ring before planning this hangout.

Whoa. Just had a thought. Alter-ego Andrew after dying too many times with a Gilbert ring? EPIC.

But seriously. The man can cook, draw sweet übervamps, and tell a grand story. His stories might even amuse Damon enough to head off that whole neck snapping thing.

Buffy Summers

Buffy Summers (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

5. Buffy. Of course. This is ME we’re talking about.

Not only is she my biggest fictional hero ever, but Buffy parties always end up with super badass shenanigans. Like zombie cats called Patches and arms in boxes.

Plus, I know what she’d say if she saw Damon and Spike side by side: “We could let ’em wrassle it out. There could be oil of some kind involved.” If she said it about Angel, she’d be halfway to the massage oil after seeing Damon. I’m sure Andrew would be happy to prepare the ring for that match.

Cough.

But for real. Buffy’s one of the most loyal friends one could want. Die multiple times for the people you love? Sure. Slap down the First Evil? Take that, The First.

That’s my mix. Buffy, Faye, Spike, Damon, and Andrew. Not a bunch you’d put together under other circumstances, but we’d have a hell of a time.

Maybe literally.

Who do you want to hang with in fantasy?

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on December 13, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love this post! Let me think… First off the David Tennant rendition of the Doctor, because it’s Doctor Who, ’nuff said. Probably Lara Croft. I’d love to learn a thing or two from her. Hmmm, I may have to do a post on this next week. Great idea, thx for sharing!

  2. With that bunch, I feel fairly certain that at least two people would wind up dead before the night was out. I’d want to be there to see it, though! I’m sure there’d be plenty of kitten gambling, etc.

  3. Captain Mal. Duh. The whole Serenity crew, actually. And maybe Apollo and Helo from BSG, just for variety.

  4. I’d like Faye for a Saturday night on the town kind of buddy but couldn’t stick her as a friend. Ha ha, thanks for the mention, too.
    Andrew – I’d probably kill him. Spike and Damon, bring it on.

  5. Damon definitely. 😉 Spike and Buffy rock. I’d add Eric from Trueblood. And Charlie from Revolution–she’s just so darn nice and honorable.

  6. Hmm…tough decisions. I’d probably agree with Jae on the David Tennant version of the Doctor, and then Alanna from Tamora Pierce’s Lioness Quartet series, and George Cooper of course, too. I’ll go classic and add in Han Solo (young Harrison Ford? Yes, please!) and I’m still deciding on the last one. It’s always hardest to fill that last spot.

    What a fun prompt! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  1. Pingback: My Fantasy Circle of Five « Lit and Scribbles with Jae

