Guess Who’s Back, Back Again

No, not Slim Shady.

At least as far as I know.

Nope, it’s yours truly, back from the dead like Lazarus, but without help from the supernatural.

Oh hi, gentle viewers. Did you miss me?

This has been quite a week. After such a long bout with a virus, I decided to take the week off to recuperate. This is the most time I’ve had off in a row since Spouse and I went on our honeymoon. I only wish it was under better circumstances.

That said, I’m back and in business. I head back to work tomorrow night (though I’ll have to beg to be put downstairs because going up steps still makes me go wheeze-cough-hack-hack-hack-gasp), and in the past several days, I’ve put 25,000 toward my new project. You can track that in the sidebar if you want to see the extent of my insanity.

This week has been a week of surprises.

Spouse brought home a big one the other day (please read past the picture do hear the story behind it):

My new-old MacBook Pro!

My new-old MacBook Pro!

The Story:

A few weeks ago, Spouse told me he had a surprise for me for Valentine’s Day. He’d been squirreling away little bits of money that his clients gave him as bonuses over the holidays, and a couple days back, he told me it was going to arrive early. Imagine my utter shock when he walked in and stuck a 2008 MacBook Pro under my nose. I’ve been wanting a new Mac for ages, ever since I found out that my old iBook G4 would need a whole OS upgrade, new hard drive, and new battery to deal with the new internet speeds, etc. Plus, I’d bought the Mac version of Scrivener back when I was still using my iBook and gnashing my teeth about not being able to use it. This was such a thoughtful gift, and Spouse got it for a tiny fraction of the price it would go for even used. A friend of his was going to sell it, and he offered it to Spouse for an almost laughably low price. It had a cracked screen and a broken hinge, and Spouse took it into the Apple store, where they fixed it for $22. All told, it set us back almost nothing, and I have a beautiful new computer. Yow.

It’s also been a week of serious kitty snuggles:

Willow Kitty has loved having Mom home all week.

Willow Kitty has loved having Mom home all week.

Willow and Buffy have been thrilled that I’m stuck at home sick. They’ve been total loves, and the moment above was one of the sweetest memories to date with that kitty. She kept reaching her little paw up and hugging my neck. It makes my heart warm just thinking about it.

And finally, tonight I had a hankering for some hot and sour soup. I ordered some from a local Chinese place, and they brought it. Amazing how that works. When I was done, I busted into my fortune cookies:

Look, I got a three-for-one!

Look, I got a three-for-one!

The first cookie held that bottom fortune. The other held all three.

I’ll take that as a good omen for the year. Plague notwithstanding.

So with that, gentle viewers, I’ll be getting back to normal around here. Thanks for bearing with my absence. I have some exciting things planned for 2013, including a few book reviews and a return to some beloved Buffy posts.

I’ll leave you with a GIF. This is how I feel after writing ten thousand words today:

How’s the new year treating you so far?

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on January 12, 2013, in life intervention and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Welcome back! I’ve missed you.

  2. Oh my gosh, you are too funny Emmie. Congrads! I would have missed you if I’d been following a lot longer. Your title was entertaining as well as the dancing Mac user. Welcome back

  3. Ooh, I wonder if you can type even faster on that fancy new laptop!

  4. Congrats on the new Mac! I suspect it will get hours and hours of good use. And glad you are feeling well again.

  5. Good news all around, I’d say! Love the kitty pic and can just imagine how the furry babes loved having you home. So glad you are in recovery mode. Props to your DH for the thoughtfulness. 🙂

  6. I’m glad you’re back, Emmie. Well done on adding so much to your manuscript!

  7. I am so glad to see you back Emmie. Congrats on the new computer. You deserved it, especially after this horrible virus. I hear that the flu has been ridiculous lately, not that that’s what you had, but I can only imagine what you went through.

    As for my new year, a lot has happened, mostly for the good. I am very focused on my writing; I am going back to school; I am single and fabulous; and I am taking it one day at a time, which is basically all that you can do.

    I cannot wait to read your future posts, and I wish you a speedy recovery. Hugs!

    • I’m so glad to hear this year is taking an upturn for you! Many thanks on the well-wishes. I am determined to smite this bug. I may have had the flu. I dunno. They just said virus, and I had flu-like symptoms, so…? But I shall prevail over the evil bug.

  8. Your hubby is a keeper!

  1. Pingback: Weekend Roundup: January 6 – 12 | Neither Here nor There....

