A Very Emmie Story

Trench in Bieszczady cm01

Trench in Bieszczady cm01 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today, gentle viewers, I have decided to crank up the periscope and give you a view into the query trenches, where I have spent the past five months. For those of you unfamiliar with the process of getting traditionally published, allow me to fill you in briefly on how it goes.

First of all, it’s not as simple as chucking your manuscript at a publishing house and seeing it on shelves next week.

The road goes something (complete with various scribbles) like this:

Write something awesome. Revise and edit the hell out of it. Compile a list of literary agents who represent your genre and similar projects (but not TOO similar). Draft a crappy query letter. Get someone else to look at it. Make crappy letter better. Email query letter (or go retro and snail mail it) to agents.

Wait.

Wait some more.

Still waiting?

Wait more.

Rejections.

Lots of rejections.

Requests!

Then more rejections.

What you’re hoping for is for some agent to read your work, be moved to laughter and/or tears that have nothing to do with the writing being craptastic, want you to be THEIR author, and ask you to move in with them.

Or something like that. Basically, if you want to see your book on a shelf, you have to get an agent. Agents are elusive creatures who know editors. There are ways to publish without them, but if you want to be published by one of the Big Five (formerly Big Six), they’re sort of vital people.

Anyway, you start out looking around at the agents of the world and sort of going like this:

But they’re busy and probably don’t see you, so you try to pretend you were minding your own business anyway.

Then you send out a few queries. And you get a few requests!

(Note: I did this dance when I got my first request. I woke up Spouse doing this through the bedroom.)

Then you send out a few more queries.

But then the rejections start flooding in.

And you feel more like this…

The weeks and months roll by, and you twiddle your thumbs and knit hats for schnauzers and/or iguanas, and when your inbox goes (1), you hyperventilate until you see it’s another rejection.

After a while, it’s this…

And…

And you WANT to believe, so you try and tell yourself this:

And some of the feedback you’re getting from agents is great! It’s helpful and charming and lovely.

But some of it is also confusing. This person says you have a phenomenal voice. That person says she loved the premise but couldn’t connect to the voice.

In spite of the feedback and happy little notes, you still feel like all the agents are just sort of seeing your query and going:

Which makes you feel like this:

Here’s where this story goes from general to personal. Ready?

So after several months of living these GIFs on repeat, a couple weeks ago I got an odd sort of DM while I was at work. It was from a friend who interned for one of the agents who had had my full manuscript since September, and she started talking a bit too casually about sitting at home with her cat. A couple weeks earlier, she’d told me that she was quietly transitioning into agenthood herself, about which I went SQUEE for her, because she is awesome, and her boss (who had my manuscript) is awesome, and both of them deserve every good thing to come their way.

Anyway, back to my friend’s DM about sitting at home with her cat.

I was working and a little confused, so I wrote back, and she responded by asking if I was working late. I told her I’d be off in about an hour and wondered why she’d asked. Our conversations usually started with query woes or other random moments, and I did have a passing wonder-if she’d gotten into the wine. A few minutes later, as I was rolling silverware, she sent another message telling me that she would not take it personally if I didn’t go with her agency when I started getting ALL THE OFFERS.

I buahaha’d at that a bit and snortled (it’s hard to take ALL THE OFFERS seriously when your inbox looks like a sea of no), then felt abashed because I figured she’d probably felt nervous about saying that and just gotten up the courage to do so and I was very inconveniently not at home to discuss it.

When I got home, we started chatting a bit more, and she asked what my plans were for the evening. At that point, I started wondering what was happening. I told her I had no plans except to stare at my screen and veg out. To which she responded, “Well, then I better give you something to stare at.”

So I waited for the next message, unsure if I was about to get a funny YouTube video or something else.

Instead I got this:

ICANHASAGENT

So I checked my email, and I went like this:

And inside I was all:

And…

And…

Because not only did her email say she wanted to speak to me on the phone about representation, but several days before, I’d been tweeting about some of my goals and wrote this:

Goal4A

Goal4B

AND SHE HAD TOTALLY SEEN IT AND USED IT!

So the next evening, we talked for an hour. And I think at some point she said douche and I said ass or shit in this professional conversation, but hey. It’s totally okay, because we’re awesome like that.

I got off the phone feeling exhilarated and joyful and really, really, really excited.

Like this:

And this:

And this:

And this:

But I couldn’t squee to the world. Because I had to let other agents with my stuff know.

I sent all the emails the next day, and I started waiting.

And waiting.

Except I’m not as peaceful as a sloth.

I’m friends with the agent that offered. As soon as I talked to her, I KNEW I wanted her to be my agent. She had the same vision for my project as I did. She’d told me before (very vehemently) that SHRIKE DESERVED to be published, and when I told her about my new projects, she said she got goosebumps. The more I talked to her over the last couple weeks, the more I wanted to just do this:

And this:

But I couldn’t just pounce on her and fling signed contracts at her.

So I waited.

And:

Through all the waiting, I got an offer of publication from an awesome small press that had requested my manuscript during a Twitter pitch contest, which was super amazing and flattering. I also had my manuscript with someone I was referred to by a friend of a friend, and I wanted to give her the chance to respond, because she is an awesome agent who has been super kind to look at my work. There were a few other agents I had to hear back from as well, so I just…twiddled my thumbs and knit woolly jumpers for my friend’s pet lizards.

But FINALLY after two weeks, I AM UTTERLY THRILLED to announce that I have signed with Jessica NegrΓ³n of Talcott-Notch Literary Services!

(Seriously. I was so excited when my deadline came up that I ran — literally ran — out and mailed the signed SAMPLE contract before realizing I was supposed to wait for an official one on letterhead.)

Excuse me while I EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

Jessica and I saw each other (?) at the Writer’s Digest Conference last year in New York, and we later formed a friendship on Twitter. She critiqued a short story for me over the summer, and when I queried her boss back in September, I had NO Idea she worked for Gina. It wasn’t until she requested my manuscript that I put it together and felt like an idiot. She was the first industry professional to fall in love with my book, and when she was given the go ahead to start taking on her own clients, she said she immediately wanted me to be her first client.

I am so excited to finally be able to say this — not only do I have an agent, but I have one who is completely smitten with my book and who loves the ideas of my other projects. I could not be more excited to start this new leg of the journey.

In closing, I wasn’t expecting things to happen this way. And as far as the rejections and the months of waiting went, every once in a while something just randomly falls into place.

Like this.

half-court-deal-with-it_o_GIFSoup.com

So look out. Jes and I are fixing to storm the publishing world together. Bring it on, 2013.

Oh, and for those of you who are stats-aholics, here you go:

  • Queries sent: 63
  • Requests: 9 (3 partials, 6 fulls. 2 fulls began as partials.)
  • Offers: 2 (one agent, one small press)
  • Contests entered: 2 (resulting in 2 requests)
  • Friends met: HEAPS
  • SHRIKE is my third completed manuscript (though it was only the second I queried, and the first I only sent 4 queries out)

UPDATE: The lovely Patrick MacDonald over at QueryTracker.net posted my success story! You can check it out here.

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in writing business, writing process, writing progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 63 Comments.

  1. FIRST! Fantastic, my dear. So utterly thrilled for you. I knew your hard work and perseverance would pay off eventually. ❀

  2. Hurray hurray hurray hurray hurray! I wish I had some adorable GIFs to post her to appropriate show how excited I am for you! So excited for this new part of your life journey to begin. Congratulations!

  3. Very happy for you! And I can’t wait to see Shrike in print!!!

  4. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I “knew” you’d do it Emmie!!! But couldn’t exactly say that until you did, because I was afraid it would have come off as placating instead of supportive. And yes, I’m jumping around with happiness for you, just like all those gifs. Storm away!!! ;-D

  5. So awesome, Emmie! You’ve put in the blood, sweat and tears to get here — on to more success for Shrike!

  6. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!!!! I love the heck out of BOTH of you so I am super excited to see this pairing!!! SQUEEEE!!!!!

  7. That’s so exciting and SUCH a cute story! Congratulations to you both and best of luck taking the publishing world by storm!

  8. Wow, what a phenomenal story. HUGE congrats to you both!

  9. AHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS AWESOME!!!!! I am SO SO SO HAPPY for you!!! You definitely were due for some awesome and I just cannot even begin to tell you how excited and thrilled and ALL THE GOOD THINGS I am feeling for you and sending in your direction at this news!!!

  10. Wooooooot! So happy for you! We need a big party! Storm that publishing world like a boss! You’re an inspiration to all of us. If I lived near you I’d take you out for a treat fest.Please accept my squeals of delight as a substitute! SQUEEEEEEEEE! WOOOOOT! YAAAAA!

  11. Congratulations! Many of your images struck a chord with me, too. To survive the query grind, one must believe in what one is doing, while still remaining open to changing what may need to be changed, and that’s a delicate balance in any endeavor.

  12. This blog post is what great storytelling is all about. Congratulations dear!

  13. This is ridiculously fantastic news and I’m full-on squeeful for you! Congratulations!

  14. WOOHOO!!! Yay, Emmie! Congratulations! That is SO exciting! *happy dance* for you! (((hugs))) I knew it’d find someone to love it! πŸ™‚

  15. Thrilled for you, Emmie. Big congrats, huge! And this was one of most fun blog posts I’ve read – loved all the little vids and pics.

  16. YAY EMMIE!!! *waving pompoms – doing backflips (in my dreams)-chilling champagne* – Congratulations! We all knew it was only a matter of time!

  17. Congratulations! This was such a fun read, I’ve got to Stumble it πŸ™‚

  18. Couldn’t have happened to a nicer or more well-deserving lady, Emmie! All the best in all that comes from this lovely step.

  19. Congrats, Emmie! Happy, happy day!

  20. First let me stop LMAO. Next, I love the new look- blog and picture. Finally, let me say- WoooSaaaa Sensei……
    Can I reblog?

  21. Happy Dance! πŸ˜€

  22. Reblogged this on BKNOVELIST and commented:
    Congrads Emmie and thanks for sharing………….. This is just to AWESOME

  23. Congrats! Love the short clips to express yourself. Again, congrats and good luck.

  24. Yay!!!!! I’m so excited for you!!!!!!

  25. Congratulations! Hilarious GIFs.

  26. Your Mom is AWESOME TO THE TENTH POWERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!! Congrads again!!!!!!!!!

  27. Phenomenal journey, Emmie, and this is only the beginning! WOOT!

  28. Congrats Emmie! Knew it was only a matter of time:)

  29. I got as far as liking this post, then our power went out for a bit due to this blizzard we’re having, and I wasn’t able to write my comment. Power is back on, and so I have returned to say congrats! I found your blog through Brian B King, and your experience is exactly what I love to hear while I endure my own querying quest. πŸ™‚ Looking forward to hearing more about the next stage!

  30. Emmie, this is a fantastic post and I’m very excited for you. As I got to the end, I recognized the name Talcott Notch as a firm I had queried. Unfortunately for me, although they requested a partial and then after several weeks, a full, I never heard anything again. I followed up with an email and still never got a rejection or otherwise. This is very unusual and because I respect what I’ve read about this firm, I had to assume my contact was no longer there and my manuscript had gotten lost. However, I’m also a believer that things work out for the best and I think we have that in common. I will be watching and wishing you heaps of success.

  31. Debbie Morella Haynes

    Emmie, I am sooooo happy for you! And what a great story you shared with us to describe your journey. Congrats πŸ™‚

  32. Congrats! I just saw this πŸ™‚ Very exciting!

  33. Congratulations! I got chills reading how she used your “dream line” from Twitter. A match made in Heaven for sure!

  34. I’m late reading my blogs. Congratulations!!!!

  35. Ermahgerd! How did I miss this?? HOW?!?!? CONGRATS, you!!!! I kept waiting for an update, and waiting…and then I came over here to see if I could get any news. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ What a sweet (and inspiring) success story!!! Sounds like you guys make a great team!

  1. Pingback: To The Grindstone! « Emmie Mears

  2. Pingback: My Week In Review – ROW80 Check-In 5 « EM Castellan

