Secret Project Revealed!

Secret Project Revealed!

SearchingForSuperWomenBanner

Good morning, gentle viewers!

Oh, I’m so excited.

If you’ve been around these parts for a while, you’ll remember a series of posts about SuperWomen. Ever since I was a kid, I longed to see female superheroes, but as we all know, they’re rather thin on the ground. After my recent post about superhero clothing and the sexist attitudes toward women displayed by the creators, I got to thinking.

There’s been a lot of stuff in the media lately about women in geek culture, from Jim C. Hines posing like the women on fantasy covers (with John Scalzi, and for charity to boot!) to showcase how ridiculous the poses are to Tor.com posting about one particular pose. Then there’s the amazing Hawkeye Initiative and my new favorite Tumblr in which artist Alex Law uses the superhero costumes of little girls to show that their gender expectations haven’t been set in stone yet, and they are better at creating badass superhero costumes than the people who do it for a living.

And I thought, “This is all great stuff.”

But I wanted something more. So I’m making it, along with three other women.

We’re creating the Searching for SuperWomen blog. It’ll be a place for geek women (and the men who love us!) to come and love the things we love, from sci-fi to superheroes. It’ll be a place to celebrate the role of women in geekdom and show Hollywood that we ARE the audience they want us to be. A place where we make it clear that after eight Superman reboots and two Spiderman trilogies and eight Batman movies, it’s about goddamn time that they make Wonder Woman and make it well, without giving it the Elektra-deluxe treatment of shame.

Pretty soon, we’ll be looking for YOU. People who love geek culture and have something to offer. Art. Music. Cosplay. An essay on Xena. Whatever you love in geekdom. So come by, get to know us, and get ready to go on an expedition.

We’re Searching for SuperWomen. Follow the link and come see us!

The Searching for SuperWomen editors are:

Our first post will go up on Wednesday. For May and June, updates will be Wednesdays, but look out for more, because we’re on the prowl.

We can’t wait to see you there!

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Searching For SuperWomen, SuperWomen and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. “It’ll be a place for geek women to come and love the things we love, from sci-fi to superheroes.”

    Cool for geek men who are interested in realistic/progressive/feminist takes on women and their roles in these arenas to follow along too, right? ‘Cause I’m already following and really excited about this. 😉

  2. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

    This sounds fabulous. Can’t wait! 🙂

  3. Brilliant! You will have an enormous following … no doubt about it … and so much good material to write about. I will be delighted to help get the word out. GO. GEEKS.

  4. Congrats on your new venture! I’ll add it to my follow feed so I don’t miss anything!! 🙂

  5. It’s so incredible that you posted about this today as I have been mentioning on Facebook all about the lack of female superheroes for my girls to admire. I go to buy superhero shirts or toys for my kids and can only find male superhero stuff for my boys, but nothing for the girls. Yes, there are some Wonder Woman shirts and clothing, and the occasional Super Girl gets thrown in too, but there are so many more female superheroes than just those! I’ve been lamenting this lack in posts on Facebook (mostly today) and also on my Princess Parade page (it’s a blog about girl empowerment, started because I have one daughter who loves everything princess, and I want her to have stronger princesses to adore). I’ve even been thinking up a challenge to run (with prizes) for people to create new female superhero characters and then write a short flash fiction about them. (so far, I’ve saved the title of the post in my blog and haven’t gone past that – was going to work on the details tonight).

    Love this! 🙂

    • That challenge sounds brilliant!

      One of my current writing projects is a superhero novel that I’m working on getting published. And yes, the protagonist is definitely female. 🙂 I would love to see some genius new female superheroes in the world. I can probably name ten males for every female that exists, and without the X-Men, that ratio would be much more skewed.

  6. I’m excited for this!

    I hope the tides are changing, and women don’t have to just be the girlfriends in superhero movies.

    Great idea for a blog, and I’m glad you were inclusive to men!

  7. Reblogged this on The Waking Den and commented:
    Building on the media buzz of women in geek culture, friend and fellow writer Emmie Mears has banded together with fellow SuperWomen editors to celebrate the role of women in geekdom… Geeks, Writers, Countrypeople, go check it out!

  8. Eleni Sakellis

    Wow! So cool! Can’t wait for it 🙂

  9. Holy Krakatoa, This. Is. Awesome.

    I’ve been a geek girl since back when we were supposed to eat the shiskabob* sandwich and declare how great it was (*yeah, language alert, but I’m betting you can guess which sandwich I mean). It was fashionable to be derrogatory towards women who wanted in, and your choices were to be too brazen to be shut down, or forgo all femininity.

    But now my daughter is having a hard time finding people she can look up to. Her favorite turtle is Donatello, but a close second is the female stone giant from the recent movie. There are so few women superheros that my daughter would rather be like a villain!!! (I’m an evil scientist, so I might not be completely offended by her villain streak…). It’s just sad because she is a whole hearted good guy (villain training can’t really start until the emotionally scaring event, so I’m okay being an evil scientist with a good guy daughter), and there are only princesses, or superhero men. URGH!

    Oh, and I wanted to comment on your post about feminism and awesome superhero clothes… If you watch The Legend of Korra (highly recommended for it’s head-on-straight portrayal of women), a child named Milo answers your question in 21:30 of Turning Tides. He says “That lady is my hero.”

    • Woot!

      I can’t hear the words “shit sandwich” (swearing is allowed on my blog, says I) without thinking of This Is Spinal Tap. Soooooo, there’s that.

      It’s sad how in the twenty to thirty years since I was a kid, there still aren’t THAT many more female superheroes for kids to see.

      So glad to hear you’re excited about the project, and I will get my paws on The Legend of Korra as soon as I can! 😀

  10. Rebecca L Goldson

    Wow. It just keeps getting better and better.

  11. Exciting, Emmie! Can’t wait to check it out. 🙂

  12. Instafollowed it!

  1. Pingback: Searching for SuperWomen is LIVE! |

